All Is Now

I have heard what the talkers were talking, the talk of the beginning and the end,
But I do not talk of the beginning or the end.
There was never any more inception than there is now,
Nor any more youth or age than there is now,
And will never be any more perfection than there is now,
Nor any more heaven or hell than there is now.
~Walt Whitman, from “Song of Myself”

No beginning, no end…the circle of life. All time exists now. We Westerners have a hard time giving up our linear thought, our linear sense of time.  I think I love poetry in large part because it can cut through habits of thought.  Good poetry surprises us, makes us see new relationships, gives us a glimpse of the poet’s creative joy.  How does linear thought, a linear sense of beginnings and endings, limit us?  What might be possible by suspending it?

2 Responses to All Is Now

  1. elaine says:

    I’ve always described myself as a drop-down menu (linear) and Tom as a hyperlink (jumping from one thought to another). I think the more I’ve lived with a hyperlink the more I’ve become a drop-down menu, not so much in self-defense but to keep from having things get out of control for the whole family (another issue entirely). Tom “gets more places” faster than I do (creatively) since I usually take one step at a time. Sometimes I really bore myself and wonder if I had married a drop-down menu if I would have been the hyperlink. I doubt it, but I’d like to think I might have ended up a little less linear, because, yes, I think that being linear is limiting. Useful sometimes. Safe. But limiting.

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Ha! Love the labels. All a continuum I think, but some of us definitely lean more toward one or the other. I suppose our task is moving toward our opposite for balance.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

