Closer to Truth

I see myself changing through the reflections in outer manifestation as I myself draw ever closer to the truth of who I am. ~Sarah Susanka

I’ve always held onto a little skepticism toward the idea of synchronicity as new-age types define it, but something drew me to The Not So Big Life Web site today. There, Susanka discusses the work of Eckhart Tolle, of whom I wrote in several previous posts: The Art Spirit, Now, Grace, and Ego.

 I had never heard of Tolle until I quite randomly stumbled on the audiobook, The Power of Now. But millions of people know his name today, because Oprah has recently selected his new book, A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose, for the book club, and will offer her “first worldwide interactive class” on this book beginning March 3.

This afternoon I read The Courage to Write, by Ralph Keyes. It definitely deserves a place in my list of favorites, and (just as I thought about Tolle) I can’t believe I didn’t already know it. I was struck by a continuation of the theme of drawing closer to the truth. Keyes says, “Our best writing results from a partnership of the conscious and the unconscious.” He quotes Saul Bellow: “I think a writer is on track when the door of his native and deeper intuitions is open. You write a sentence that doesn’t come from that source and you can’t build around it–it makes the page seem somehow false.”

3 Responses to Closer to Truth

  1. To know one’s personal truth, I think, is one of life’s greatest gifts and the only way we can really know our truth is to meet ourselves (perhaps after a long dark night with the soul) in the warm light of the present moment. Thanks for the quote and the Keyes suggestion – I will definitely check that out (I’m already a Tolle fan ;D).

    I bet you’ve already read this one, but it would be a nice compliment to your thoughts here… “Anatomy of the Spirit” by Caroline Myss.

  2. quotesqueen says:

    I love this:
    “the only way we can really know our truth is to meet ourselves (perhaps after a long dark night with the soul) in the warm light of the present moment.” Yes, I’ve read Anatomy, but it might be time to reread. Thanks for visiting!

  3. […] and a decreasing skepticism of the phenomenon some call synchronicity (Closer to Truth). […]

Leave a comment