Authenticity

Music is your own experience, your thoughts and wisdom. If you don’t live it, it won’t come out your horn. ~Charlie Parker

I love this quote. And I don’t think it’s just about music. Any creative act (and everyone performs them) is only as good as the naturalness, the inevitability, of its expression. The next line in a poem MUST be a particular line in light of what the poet has lived, and tuning in to find out what that next line will be is the trick!

3 Responses to Authenticity

  1. Teresa says:

    I love to sing REALLY LOUDLY! –

    When I was twelve years old, my best friend and I used to sing all the time. Especially that Mary Poppins’ song “Let’s Go Fly a Kite.” I still don’t think I’ve ever been happier than I was when I was singing that song, riding my bicycle, and going to the Dairy King to have a Coke float. Yes ma’am, that was the life, in El Dorado, Arkansas, 1968.

  2. quotesqueen says:

    I want to hear that song, and I’m hoping it’s less sappy than the other Mary Poppins’ songs I remember…Not even a Dairy Queen in El Dorado, eh? That’s how we know it is not a Georgia town!

  3. Teresa says:

    Well, as you know, I LOVE to sing. So, I’ll teach it to you. It is pretty sappy, but I love it anyway. The Dairy KING was special! Everybody’s got a Dairy QUEEN.

Leave a Reply

