Doing Right

Always do right; this will gratify some people and astonish the rest. ~Mark Twain

It is better to suffer wrong than to do it, and happier to be sometimes cheated than not to trust. ~Samuel Johnson

Would that the simple maxim, that honesty is the best policy, might be laid to heart; that a sense of the true aim of life might elevate the tone of politics and trade till public and private honor become identical. ~Margaret Fuller

Lately I seem to find myself in the position of being the “conscience” in the group–uncomfortable to say the least, (especially for others), but dang it, I am going to be authentic and as ethical and honest as I can possibly be regardless of the culture in which I find myself.  While it doesn’t make friends and influence people, it’s the right thing to do.  Hence, my distaste for politics, where appearance and rhetoric are the important things, and honesty and authenticity are secondary at best.  In a political world, how do people balance personal integrity with political effectiveness? Is it possible?

3 Responses to Doing Right

  1. Teresa says:

    I don’t know for sure, and yet, and yet, I still believe that there is someone out there who is an honest, decent, intelligent and worthwhile politician. Maybe it’s you?

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Not me, no stomach for it. I want to tell the truth, even the truth people don’t want to hear. That doesn’t garner wide support, certainly not a majority!

  3. Dancing rabbit says:

    Silence in the face of evil is itself evil: God will not hold us guiltless. Not to speak is to speak. Not to act is to act. -Dietrich Bonhoeffer

    Reminds me of Albert Camus/existentialists.

    Examples in modern day public intercourse are legion. Pick out your own.

    I suppose the problem is how to be involved without being consumed.

Leave a Reply

