Starting Over

You may have a fresh start any moment you choose, for this thing that we call ‘failure’ is not the falling down, but the staying down. ~Mary Pickford

This quote seems particularly appropriate today, since I have missed a couple of days of posting (travel to Savannah and back to do a library board training session).  I am getting better at “starting over;” that is, identifying those practices that are important to health and happiness and, without chastising myself for NOT doing them (“I will not should on myself today!”), simply begin again another day. I have always made a lot of resolutions, and have (without fail) failed to live up to them. But I’ve learned that I can fall down today and get up again tomorrow.  And some of those things I’ve resolved (flossing, for example) have since become daily habits…so there!

3 Responses to Starting Over

  1. Teresa says:

    Then, see there, you did NOT fail without fail, because you accomplished the flossing. You may feel like minimizing your accomplishments, but your friends see you as a star.

  2. Claudia says:

    Yep….me too.

  3. quotesqueen says:

    Star flosser–thanks for the monumental esteem in which you obviously hold me. And to what does Claudia refer? And aren’t you proud of how deftly I used prepositions within these two sentences so that they would not fall at the end? Enough…serious matters here, you clowns!

Leave a Reply

