Bumper Sticker Wisdom

Live simply. Give generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly.  ~from a bumper sticker (thanks to nonprofit consultant Illene Roggensack)

I particularly like the “give generously” part. I find that generosity serves me well. (Is that a contradiction?) Here’s how: approaching life from a mindset of abundance, rather than scarcity, not only makes me feel richer, but helps me see the goodness in others. So many of us on this earth are wounded, act out of woundedness, see the world as hostile–or at best, something to be struggled against and overcome. Acting generously, I can give first to the other, and often reciprocity follows. Giving first is giving up nothing.

4 Responses to Bumper Sticker Wisdom

  1. Stacie says:

    I have a bumper sticker that says “Commit Random Acts of Kindness” and I try to do so every day. Having compassion for all sentient beings is quite a goal. I work on this but find it particularly hard to feel compassion for Bush and Cheney and the rest….Trying with my practice!

  2. quotesqueen says:

    And then there’s the bumper sticker that says, “I want to be Barbi–that bitch got everything!” Like sentient beings, they definitely run the gamut!

  3. Teresa says:

    I have to admit that I love the Barbie sticker. What a laugh.

    Of course, it seems like we’re all talking about creating good Karma. I’m a sincere believer in that, and in surrounding yourself as much as possible with good energy from wonderful people. Not that I deserve it, but something happened and I got some anyway.

  4. Claudia says:

    I belong to a group called Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness, does that count?

Leave a Reply

