Vegetarianism

Now I can look at you in peace; I don’t eat you anymore.  ~Franz Kafka, admiring fish in an aquarium

Sam is not here to cook, and I have eaten salad for my last two meals.  (Yes, it did have a little ham on it!)  But I think I could become a vegetarian without much effort.  Not only is it healthy, it helps save resources.  I’m not sure about the ethics of eating animals, since plants are also living things.  What makes them less sacred?

Next week at the beach (yipppeee!) I plan to read Frances Lappe’s Diet for a Small Planet.  What would or did compel you to become a vegetarian?

7 Responses to Vegetarianism

  1. I always wondered, too, what made a dolphin more sacred than a tuna? Why do we value one who is “self”-aware more than one who simply lives?

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Yes, Archy (of Archy & Mehitabel) asked the question long ago about why a cockroach is not as respected as a butterfly.

  3. elaine says:

    I’ve been vegetarian for so long I don’t remember the exact precipitating event. However, in the last year I’ve transitioned into vegan-hood. It started when Katherine found a recipe on a site called vegweb.com. I visited the site which is mostly vegan-oriented then did some reading. Actually, I re-read books I had read in the past but somehow didn’t “get” all of what was in them. It just goes to show you that you have to be ready to receive what you’re reading before it truly sinks in. Now I wonder what I could have been thinking even eating/drinking dairy and eating eggs. If you don’t mind a little “language,” a quick read that is very much to the point is Skinny Bitch. I also recommend Food Revolution and The China Study. All very enlightening. Even having been vegetarian for almost 30 years never made me feel as good emotionally (not to mention physically) as becoming vegan has. Does make eating out a bit of a pain but I’ve rediscovered the pleasures of preparing food again–something I have not had for, oh, about 20 years. 🙂

  4. Teresa says:

    Well, I am not a vegetarian, but I hate all cockroaches and find them terrifying. In fact, not too long ago I wrote a haiku about it:

    Oh god -A COCKROACH!
    Stomp that damn bug, please, hurry!
    Stomp on it, I said!

  5. quotesqueen says:

    Now there’s a haiku that should go in a bottle in a river and never be heard from again! 🙂

  6. Teresa says:

    And down the river in the bottle goes another woman’s soulful haiku…

    {:<

  7. […] Eat less; move more. Keep less; toss more. Waste less time; write more. Fret less; smile more. Fear less; love more. Sit less; walk more. Acquire less; give more. Look inward less; look outward more. Work less; play more. Ignore less; help more. Complain less; express gratitude more. […]

Leave a Reply

