Discourse

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing, there is a field. I’ll meet you there.  ~Rumi

How polarized the human family seems to me. Where are the places we can come together to talk as living, loving beings, transcending the IDEAS of wrong and right? Public libraries could be one of those places; liberal religious communities could be another. Privately, meditation helps us connect with all that is, to sense our place in the interdependent web of all existence. And I am convinced it is only this awareness that will save the world. If  we know the world is us, we are less likely to participate in harmful practices.

Is it enough to radiate peace as individuals, or must we work toward peace with others? How do we best create or discover fields in which to meet?

4 Responses to Discourse

  1. elaine says:

    I may think this way to make myself feel better, but…I think that if you are the kind of person who is oriented to either need or enjoy the company of others, working together toward peace is the natural “way.” If you are not the kind of person who needs or enjoys the company of others (on a large scale, that is), being peace, living peace, radiating peace has to count for something. It takes all kinds.

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Good point, Elaine. I seem to find “society” draining, and when I do engage, I am often disappointed or alienated by the politics, the groupthink, and other social dynamics. I am reading the book by Sarah Susanka, “The Not So Big Life.” She might say my aversion to social groups might be a teacher, something I should pay closer attention to, to learn more about myself.

  3. elaine says:

    Ooo, I’ll have to check that out. Thanks for the tip.

  4. Teresa says:

    If you haven’t read her other books: The Not So Big House, and the other one, that I can’t remember the title of right now, you should. They are great.

Leave a Reply

