Stillness

Within you there is a stillness and a sanctuary to which you can retreat at any time and be yourself.  ~Herman Hesse

In sitting meditation, focusing on the breath, I reach occasional fleeting moments of what seems like stillness of the mind.  I believe this stillness is the place where illusions disappear.  I can’t say how this helps me, but I know it does–not only in the moment, but beyond.

I don’t want to say a lot “publicly” about my work, but I went into it a year ago with a lot of illusions.  Long ago, Terry noted that I find my wisdom in stillness.  And the more I have been able to be still, the more these illusions have dropped away.  In their place I find clarity, the ability to see a situation as it really is, not colored by what it purports to be, what I want it to be, or by my will to shape it.  What is, is.  And that is liberating!

2 Responses to Stillness

  1. Sophia says:

    Thanks for the info about your blog. Lots of thought-provoking material. I support you in being still. Amazing how much can come out of nothingness….

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Thanks for your comment, Sophia. You told me years ago that meditation could be important to my well-being, and I feel like I’m finally learning directly what you meant!

Leave a Reply

