Attention

Life is denied by the lack of attention, whether it be to cleaning windows or trying to write a masterpiece.  ~Nadia Boulanger

Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.  ~John Lennon

How many ways are there to talk about mindfulness? “Pay attention!” wrote Sophia, and I try. And then I don’t, and then I try again. And then I don’t.  First there is a mountain, then there is no mountain, then there is (Donovan).

Boulanger does not write that life is ignored by lack of attention, but denied. Big difference. And the opposite is? Embracing, perhaps. And all there is is this moment, now. I embrace this moment in which I write this post, my bare feet pleasantly cool, the smell of dinner wafting from the kitchen, my body loose from yoga.

Leave a Reply

