Creation

Spontaneous creation comes from our deepest being and is immaculately and originally ourselves. What we have to express is already with us, is us, so the work of creativity is not a matter of making the material come, but of unblocking the obstacles to its natural flow.  ~Stephen Nachmanovitch, from Free Play: The Power of Improvisation in Life and the Arts (p. 10)

I adore this book, maybe because I need it so much. If you are fascinated by the creative process, as I am, don’t miss the elegant prose of Nachmanovitch. Unblocking the obstacles to natural flow has certainly been the work of my life so far, and I don’t feel as though I’ve made much progress. The moments when I do feel the flow are the moments I am truly alive. And those moments sometimes appear in the unlikeliest times and places. How do you play? How do you unblock the obstacles to your creativity?

3 Responses to Creation

  1. Priscilla says:

    I’m putting this book on my winter reading list! Like Lyn, I’m fascinated by the creative process – well, hooked on it.

    The idea of unblocking the obstacles to the flow of creativity is appealing – but, though it works for me intellectually, is hard to relate to my own experience. The Creative Force has burst into my consciousness most powerfully at times when I was seemingly very much blocked by depression, fear, or worry. So what can it do when one ISN’T blocked??!

    I was fascinated when I read or heard somewhere that either Shumann or Shubert (sorry I don’t know which) was depressed for much of his adult life and composed in spite of it.

  2. quotesqueen says:

    I can relate to that Priscilla–anti-depressants seem to be blockers for me. So many creatives are and were depressed–of course before SSRIs, many of them committed suicide at an early age.

    I think there is a place beyond depression and beyond its “cure.” Which has something to do with my near-obsession now with mindfulness and Buddhist notions of impermanence. Spinoza said, “One who despises himself is the nearest to a proud man.” I’m trying to understand ego and egolessness.

  3. […] Creation unblocking the obstacles to the natural flow of creativity […]

Leave a Reply

