Privacy

What lies before us and what lies behind us are small matters compared to what lies within us. And when we bring what is within out into the world, miracles happen.  ~Thoreau

I have seen the first idea of this quote attributed also to Emerson, but I like what Thoreau does with it. As an INFJ, I tend to be a very private person. This blog is an exercise in bringing what is within out into the world. I know it feels risky, because I have only shared the site with people I trust. And I am still careful about how many personal details I reveal. Still, I want to live unguarded as much as is possible in this world.

I see such a stance as akin to an orientation toward abundance (safety) rather than scarcity (danger). Can I come from a position of trust and yet recognize and respond appropriately to danger? A John Mellencamp song says, “I don’t want to live angry; I don’t want to live scared.” My friend Gloria radiated love, which I believe protected her in many instances. Can I love first and self-protect only when necessary?

Leave a Reply

