Watch the thought

The thought manifests as the word;
the word manifests as the deed;
the deed develops into habit;
and habit hardens into character.

So watch the thought and its way with care,
and let it spring from love
born out of concern for all beings.
~the Buddha

Again, we are talking about mindfulness I believe. To what thoughts are we giving energy? I used to have this poem on my bulletin board at work. What better management meditation? A reminder to focus on others’ well-being, to give attention to where an organization or relationship is going rather than where it’s been.

What are the habits that by definition I take for granted? Are they habits I want or habits I would rather not have? Increasingly, I am able to develop habits of kindness toward myself–love and concern for myself as well as others (“all beings” after all–not just you, but also me). And that frees my energy to be present for others.

5 Responses to Watch the thought

  1. Peggy says:

    Lyn, this is awesome – well-timed for me. I love the quote….love it, love it. It might just end up on my bulletin board.

    Thank you!

  2. […] think this is true as far as it goes. I posted a quote attributed to the Buddha that expresses a similar idea. But there is something to the idea of developmental learning, that I […]

  3. bobleckridge says:

    Great quote, Lyn. Thanks. I treat a lot of patients with chronic illnesses, and often those patients become so overwhelmed by some of their symptoms that it becomes their whole life. Releasing them from that loop of suffering definitely involves helping them to develop different thought patterns, especially outwardly focussed ones so that the focus shifts away from negativity to the positivity of life. That’s why we have a garden in the middle of our hospital and often consult our patients out there amongst the trees, berries, leaves and flowers, noticing the birds, the squirrels and the foxes who live there. It’s about shifting the attention so that different thoughts emerge, and positive loops have a chance to take over from the negative ones.
    Thank you again. I think I’ll print this one out and put it up in the ward!

  4. quotesqueen says:

    Terrific, Bob–the garden sounds wonderful. What important work you are doing!

  5. […] It matters what we do, day in and day out, on the smallest scale. In fact, that is where it matters most. I have always had a bit of guilt that I was not more politically active on a grand scale. My introverted nature was a big factor, as was the personal work I needed to do, but also it was hard to know whether the “movements” of my day were really helping or further polarizing people (more on this idea in an earlier post). […]

Leave a Reply

