Speech

Before you speak ask yourself–is it kind, is it necessary, is it true, does it improve the silence?  ~Sai Baba

The more faithfully you listen to the voice within you, the better you will hear what is sounding outside. Only he who listens can speak.  ~Dag Hammarskjold

My friends remind me that speech is powerful and that I should consider its necessity carefully as well as its truth. I have to confess that after my post yesterday, I didn’t sit on the zafu, as I had planned, but rather continued to stew about things.

Today I must go to a funeral and shop for Christmas, but I resolve to find some time (if only 10 minutes) to listen to the “voice within” in order to better “hear what is sounding outside.” I am so good at planning and resolving, and it is so difficult to practice. But I am aware of my aspiration to right action, right speech. And so, so grateful for my friends.

2 Responses to Speech

  1. Bonnie says:

    Listening to the inner voice is so difficult for me. I question, constantly, whether or not the voice is one I should listen to or one that comes from some need to please someone/something else. I find I rarely take time to actually sit and listen to what’s going on within my mind – it almost makes me more anxious than less. I’ve found that movement is what helps me connect with my thoughts better than anything so I run and try to use that time to listen and discern and solve (or resolve). (Want to say that I really like your quotes from yesterday on silence.)

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Movement is certainly one way to practice meditation. I find that sitting meditation is the right method for me, because I have had dramatic results from only minimal effort (not that I don’t want to do more, just that so far I haven’t had the perseverence, fortitude, patience, or whatever is required to sit longer). And the important activity is letting thoughts come and go without judgment. “Monkey mind” will jump from tree to tree, chattering wildly. If these thoughts are just noticed without engagement, they eventually quiet down.

Leave a Reply

