Loss

[Here I had one of my favorite poems, “In Blackwater Woods,” by Mary Oliver.]

I have sent this poem (again) to someone who is bereaved. What difficult human work Oliver describes! In an earlier entry on love and loss (click “loss” on the tag cloud at right), I quoted a Shakespeare passage that I think of often: “Ruin hath taught me thus to ruminate– / That Time will come and take my Love away: / –This thought is as a death, which cannot choose / But weep to have that which it fears to lose.”

Still, Oliver is right. We must love because our lives depend upon it, and we must let go when that time comes. I believe the more fully we can do Oliver’s three things, the richer life will be. How we do it, I can’t say, but I know it’s worthwhile to keep trying.

2 Responses to Loss

  1. asqfish says:

    he poem is beautiful and says it all. Courage and solace in one breath!

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Yes, it’s been one of my favorites for a while. Some of Oliver’s lines are really something!

Leave a Reply

