The Ineffable Creative Process

An artist cannot speak about his art any more than a plant can discuss horticulture.  ~Jean Cocteau

Rock journalism is people who can’t write interviewing people who can’t talk for people who can’t read.  ~Frank Zappa

Writing about music is like dancing about architecture. ~Martin Mull

Since that leaves nothing to say about the creative process, here’s an example of its product: a country love song I wrote a while back.  Who out there can put the right music to it so we can publish it??

Slow Smile

Born and raised Appalachian
Pickin’ banjo and guitar
Playin’ with the band at night
Now they say you’re a local star
How many years you been at this?
Well it looks like twenty or more
Doin’ what you love but still
Wonderin’ what you’re put here for

(Chorus)
You’re here to gimme that slow smile
And look into my eyes
Gotta have your slow smile
The one that took me by surprise

You know I didn’t come here
Lookin’ for a man to turn my head
So why do I think of you at night
When I’m tossin’ in my bed?
Well I can’t say for certain
But I think I’m in trouble again
My mind’s confused and distracted
And I’m doin’ things I don’t understand

C’mon and gimme that slow smile
Make me feel a fast heartbeat
Yeah baby got a slow smile
And it’s turnin’ up the heat

They say that mountains can’t be moved
But I don’t believe it’s true
‘Cause I was sure my heart was rock
And it’s meltin’ now for you
Maybe I’ll have to stay now
I never counted on your charms
I know I can’t go away now
When you hold me in your arms

I fell hard for your slow smile
That look that was in your eyes
C’mon and gimme your slow smile
The one that took me by surprise

1998, Lyn Hopper

7 Responses to The Ineffable Creative Process

  1. JK says:

    nice song, cool blog… I may borrow a few quotes for my collection ( http://nowwhat-quotes.blogspot.com/ ) if you don’t mind… Is it too late to say Happy New Year?

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Feel free, if I can borrow some from your site! Never too late to say something nice, imho…

  3. mark gates says:

    Those are some damned nice lyrics. If I wasn’t so rusty I’d give it a shot(retired guitar player). There must be some way for you to promote that-they’re that good! MG

  4. Teresa says:

    Well, you know me, I cannot resist singing country music. I sang your song just now and I was just terrific, as you can well imagine.

    I love it!

  5. Sara says:

    You’ve been added to the blogroll at PWB.

  6. quotesqueen says:

    Teresa, I want to hear the tune next time I see you, so DON’T forget it…

  7. […] S. This is a quote that belongs with my previous post on the ineffable creative process:  Art criticism is to the artist as ornithology is to the birds. […]

Leave a Reply

