Thankfulness

If we meet someone who owes us thanks, we right away remember that. But how often do we meet someone to whom we owe thanks without remembering that?  ~Goethe

If you want to turn your life around, try thankfulness. It will change your life mightily.  ~Gerald Good

I have written three thank-you notes today on some lovely handmade note cards I got for 50% off after the holidays. I often wonder how many paper-and-pen thank you notes are written anymore. I’m sure it is far fewer than ever before in my lifetime; the advent of e-mail made it much easier to say thank you without a lot of bother. But even though I don’t always do it when I have the urge to, I love sending thank-you notes for thoughtful gifts, support during a hard time, special favors, or other expressions of generosity.

Yet I know there are many to whom I owe thanks that have never received such a note from me! It is easy to forget how many people help us along our way without our knowledge–or those who assist in ways that seem inconsequential, expected, or even suspect.  Who are the many people you have never thanked who probably deserve your thanks? I think I’ll make a list.

Namaste.

One Response to Thankfulness

  1. w4wtoronto says:

    Great quotes on thankfulness! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

