Fun

You see, I don’t believe that libraries should be drab places where people sit in silence, and that’s been the main reason for our policy of employing wild animals as librarians.  ~Monty Python 

Having just visited the delightful BookLust site, I am inspired and resolved to have more fun in my blog. Yes, I might actually give you (and myself) a break from my serious pondering, my search for enlightenment, and my “always do right” attitude! Won’t that be refreshing?

So here goes:
There once was a blogger who laughed,
(when she found a new blog that was daft)
“I can make this fun
and I will,” whereupon,
she created a whimsical draft.

Let’s get cracking!  What’s your favorite joke/riddle/pun/funny quotation/silly poem? I mentioned Cautionary Verses in an earlier post. While we’re on the subject of books, here’s a link to Sarah Byng, who could not read and was tossed into a thorny hedge by a bull. Enjoy!

P.S. You can see I just learned to embed links, so of course I had to show off and use 3 of them!  Isn’t learning fun, fun, fun?

3 Responses to Fun

  1. patricia says:

    Hilarious poem! You realize of course, that I must to use this for next week’s ‘Silly Poetry Friday’.

    There are many funny quotes out there that I adore, but I think it’s a neck and neck tie between two of the most clever and witty writers to have ever graced this planet: Oscar Wilde and Dorothy Parker.

    Some of my faves from Dorothy:
    “The two most beautiful words in the English language are ‘cheque enclosed.”

    “If you want to know what God thinks of money, just look at the people he gave it to.”

    “You can lead a horticulture, but you can’t make her think.”

    And Wilde:
    “If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they’ll kill you.”

    “Bigamy is having one wife too many. Monogamy is the same.”

    “The world is a stage, but the play is badly cast.”

    Hooray for fun!

  2. […] There’s not too much really fun stuff here. How about Can’t Buy Me Love: The Beatles, Britain, and America, by Jonathan […]

  3. […] Fun We could all use a bit more of that, eh? […]

Leave a Reply

