Editors’ Choice

The worst thing about reading new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones.  ~Joseph Joubert

Just the knowledge that a good book is awaiting one at the end of a long day makes that day happier.  ~Kathleen Norris

I have spent nearly the whole afternoon getting the audio version of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire into iTunes to put on my iPod–17 discs! (Thanks, Kay, for urging me to try Harry Potter.) I listen to a lot of audiobooks these days, what with my 72-mile commute 3 days a week and my frequent traveling around the state.

The Booklist Editors’ Choice was recently released for 2007. Here are the books I have chosen from the Adult Books list to add to my own reading list. See the Booklist site for the annotations.

Einstein: His Life and Universe, by Walter Isaacson
Bridge of Sighs, by Richard Russo
The Gathering, by Anne Enright
The Maytrees, by Annie Dillard
On Chesil Beach, by Ian MacEwan
Strange as This Weather Has Been, by Ann Pancake
A Thousand Splendid Suns, by Khaled Hosseini

Wait! There’s not too much really fun stuff here. How about Can’t Buy Me Love: The Beatles, Britain, and America, by Jonathan Gould? Yes, that goes on my list, too!  Truth be told, there’s not much fun stuff on the editors’ choice list, either. I’m almost finished listening to Alan Alda’s Things I Overheard While Talking to Myself. For a serious guy, he can be pretty funny! The book is basically a compilation of addresses he’s given at various graduations, memorial services, and other occasions. But I have to say it’s better than I expected, and now I want to read Never Have Your Dog Stuffed.

What funny books have you read lately?

Leave a Reply

