Expectations

My happiness grows in direct proportion to my acceptance and in inverse proportion to my expectations.  ~Michael J. Fox

I have missed blogging the past few days! It has become a habit, a practice, that helps ground me. In one 48-hour period this week, I drove 600 miles, or about 9 hours, for a 7-hour meeting. That just seems crazier than ever to me. Not to  mention the impact on the environment of that kind of living. I want to work toward a quieter, simpler life. I don’t mean to fight with the life I have, but as I said to David this week, I’m learning to completely let go of attachment to the outcome (expectations), while moving in what I think is a good and right direction.

I don’t think much about expectations these days. I am much more focused on day-to-day intention, action, reflection on what is (acceptance). And that is radical and wonderful. More and more of being here now, and less and less of dwelling on past mistakes or future possibilities, is liberating and exhilirating. What can I do in this moment to express my values, tune in to the rhythms of nature, be one with all, and honor the gift that is my “one wild and precious life”?*

Who am I really in this moment? It doesn’t matter who I have been, who I will be, who others think I am. What matters is living authentically now. And beginning again (and again, and again…). So…your turn: “Tell me, what is it you plan to do / with your one wild and precious life?”*

*from Mary Oliver’s extraordinary poem, “The Summer Day.”

5 Responses to Expectations

  1. […] 27, 2008 · No Comments Quotesqueen recently posted an awesome Michael J. Fox quote about expectations. Check it […]

  2. I love this approach to life and am working hard to make it my own. I’ve been reading Richard Moss’ Mandala of Being, which is right in line with your thinking – if you haven’t read it, I think you’d enjoy it.

    As for what I plan to do with my one wild and precious life (I LOVE Mary Oliver, btw), I’m going to take part of a quote from a favorite movie, “I’m going to get out of bed every morning, and breath in and out all day long…” and I’m going to accept and honor what life gives to me in each moment.

    Namaste,
    Kelley

  3. quotesqueen says:

    Kelley, that sounds like a great plan! What’s the movie?

  4. […] Posts BlogsicknessFinding FlowExpectationsVegetarianismMusic and […]

Leave a Reply

