Flying

Wanna fly, you got to give up the shit that weighs you down.  ~Toni Morrison

Birds and flying figured in all the poems I wrote for several years. I used to dream about plane crashes regularly. And I carried excess weight in my body, even though I am not a naturally heavy person. Perhaps these things are related.

Now I feel lighter, literally and figuratively. What are the things I have let go? The over-reliance on the opinions of others; unnecessary striving when waiting would do; and struggling to live each day without the understanding that the day will be what it is, with or without that struggling.

What is the shit that weighs you down? What could you jettison that would allow you to fly?

4 Responses to Flying

  1. Bill says:

    shallow end
    he doesn’t believe
    in the water

  2. asqfish says:

    How does begin to uncover what is weighing one down?

  3. asqfish says:

    the correct question begins with: How does one…

  4. quotesqueen says:

    I think uncovering what weighs one down is about being mindful–just noticing–when I feel heavy, what has just happened (in reality or in my thoughts); when I feel happy, what has given me energy. In my experience, thoughts layered onto experiences are often the culprits!

Leave a Reply

