Lasting

To be somebody you must last.  ~Ruth Gordon

I got this quote out of the little book of Meditations for Women Who Do Too Much. The daily meditation that accompanies it is about perseverance, but I prefer to think that Ruth Gordon was talking about living a long life. It is only recently that I have had the thought that I want to live a long time. I think because it is only recently that I have really learned how to live.

When I was young, I assumed I would die young–I’m sure it was part of my overly dramatized depressive persona. Later, I just feared I would die young. Now I want to be a feisty, or at least spirited, old woman who says exactly what she thinks, does what she pleases (which will certainly involve learning), and laughs a lot.

Michelle Shocked sings, “When I grow up I wanna be an old woman,” and that seems about right. Meanwhile, I’ll keep in mind what Ruth Gordon says and try to last.

4 Responses to Lasting

  1. Bill says:

    I’m sure Gordon was talking about a long life, but I suspect she was also talking about seeing a project through. Degas to Mallarme: “Why can’t I write poetry. I have so many ideas.” Mallarme to Degas: “Poems aren’t written with ideas. They are written with words.” (Quoted from memory; absolute accuracy not guaranteed.)

  2. donna says:

    “Now I want to be a feisty, or at least spirited, old woman who says exactly what she thinks, does what she pleases (which will certainly involve learning), and laughs a lot.”

    No reason you can’t do that right now!

  3. quotesqueen says:

    Good point, Donna! 🙂 And yes, Bill, whenever I have started with an idea for a poem, it has failed miserably…

  4. Claudia says:

    Ahhhh, feisty and saying exactly what she pleases, doing exactly what she pleases; I promise you…..you are doing that already. And the laughter….it is good! Life is wonderful, full of beauty and joy. It is what we make it. Love ya……

Leave a Reply

