Now

When you have a disease, do not try to cure it–find your center and you will be healed.  ~Tao proverb

I can now highly recommend Eckhart Tolle’s The Power of Now. I have listened to about 3/4 of the audiobook, and now I am planning to buy the print edition.  Read it and learn why humankind is insane, and why we must individually and collectively save ourselves by learning to be present in the now. Instead of talking about how when we come to die, we need to have lived, Tolle talks about the importance of having already “died” (as an ego, a form), so that we understand that there is no death.

It is the wisdom of the ages, if only we could hear and practice it. There is no present or future, only now. It doesn’t mean we cease to plan or set goals, it just means we fully experience the present as it occurs, without mental reference to past or future.  We step out of time and do not resist what is.

I started this blog on August 12, 2007, by speculating that mindfulness was the key to “God, the universe and everything.” Now I am convinced of that. It is no coincidence that mindfulness is the largest tag on my tag cloud!

Mindfulness may be the antithesis of thinking, however; it is awareness of being in the body, of the emotions as manifestations of thought. Transformation is through the body, not away from it, says Tolle. Going within and focusing on the inner energy field of your body helps you stay grounded, still and rooted.

4 Responses to Now

  1. midlifecrisisqueen says:

    Hey Quotequeen:

    I just added you to my blogroll…any chance you could add me to yours???

    The Midlife CrisisQueen rides again!

  2. donna says:

    I have the meditation deck that I got as a gift in one of my blog exchanges – very cool.

  3. quotesqueen says:

    that’s a neat idea–just draw a card for a different meditation??

  4. […] discusses the work of Eckhart Tolle, of whom I wrote in several previous posts: The Art Spirit, Now, Grace, and […]

Leave a Reply

