Libraries

I’m of a fearsome mind to throw my arms around every living librarian who crosses my path, on behalf of the souls they never knew they saved.  ~Barbara Kingsolver

I have just spent a week in Minneapolis with 9,800 other librarians at the Public Library Association National Conference. The highlight of the conference, for me, was the Friday author luncheon that featured one of my favorites, Louise Erdrich. I am drawn to many poets and writers by an intense heart connection that nourishes me in a fundamental way.

One of the themes of this conference (and the profession in general) is that citizen advocacy is essential to the sustainability of libraries. People who benefit from libraries must speak out about the ways in which libraries have “saved” them, have changed their lives. We who work in public libraries hear heartwarming testimonials daily about the transformational effects of libraries on individuals–but these stories need to find their way to political decision makers and funders of libraries. For more on this, click on the button to the right that connects to the I Love Libraries Web site.

What is your library story?

Leave a Reply

