Being Flow

You write from what you know, but you write in what you don’t know.  ~Grace Paley

When the painting is finished, the subject reveals itself.  ~William Baziotes

Writing (or any creative work) is discovery. That is why it is so frightening, so exhilirating, so compelling. This blog is my exercise in writing in what I don’t know. When the blog entry is finished, the subject reveals itself. I merely try to follow my mind and heart where they lead–first in choosing a quotation, then in my response to it.

This is good practice, I believe, for surrendering to life, for letting myself “be carried” by the universe, for loving what is. Perhaps writing will save my soul. I keep returning to Ray Bradbury’s advice from Zen in the Art of Writing: “WORK. RELAX. DON’T THINK.” There is so much wisdom in that simple exhortation. I am not sure how it could be more perfect.

William Stafford said, “Intention endangers creation.” May I approach my work with relaxation and a spirit of inquiry. May I surrender to the world with faith that I will be carried. May I set aside intention, will, and the illusion of control in order to be in the flow–no!–to be the flow–of all creation.

3 Responses to Being Flow

  1. Bill says:

    The Benedictines’ “laborare est orare” could be translated as WORK. RELAX. DON’T PRAY. We’re all different. We’re not.

    hunt and peck
    in search of a poem
    blackbirds in the snow

  2. […] Being Flow Set aside intention. Work. Relax. Don’t think. […]

  3. […] See other entries on this theme: “Why I Write” and “Being Flow.” […]

Leave a Reply

