Get Young

The great thing about getting older is you don’t lose all the other ages you’ve been. ~Madeleine L’Engle

Today, L’Engle’s words make sense to me. I am ready to reclaim some earlier stages of life and elements of people I’ve been–for example, that laughing, back-talking 20-something that somehow got papered over. I think we often throw the baby out with the bathwater as we “grow up.” (I can only imagine what my friend Teresa, (in)famous for garbling aphorisms, might say here–possibly, “yeah, you cut off your foot to spite your nose,” or “throw the baby out the window with the bathtub,” both of which she has actually been known to say.)

But hey! Let’s get young again and have some fun. What say you?

5 Responses to Get Young

  1. Claudia says:

    hmmmmm, I have known you to remove the paper once in awhile in the past 11 years.

    I’m all for fun as you know, it keeps us young and makes life exciting.

  2. donna says:

    I’ve spent a lot of time lately realizing I was more right about life when I was 17 or so than I was for a long time in my late twenties and early thirties. We spend a few years being “safe” before we actually realize there isn’t any such thing.

  3. Bill says:

    I remember a TV spot in which a former supermodel said, “I wouldn’t go back to being 21, unless I could take my 50-year-old brain with me.”

    To which my response was, “Yeah, but if we could work out that 50-year-old brain thing.”

  4. quotesqueen says:

    Good point, Donna! Emerson said, “Nothing is secure but life, transition, and the energizing spirit.”

  5. […] Get Young Remembering past selves… […]

Leave a Reply

