Radical Acceptance

Radical acceptance can keep us from becoming progressively constricted and diminished in the face of painful experiences.  ~from The Mindful Way Through Depression, by Williams, Teasdale, Segal & Kabat-Zinn

You may note that I have changed the tagline of this blog to “words that illuminate the path to understanding.” Still way too many syllables for my taste, but more descriptive of what this blog has turned out to be. How would you say it more concisely?–send suggestions!

I have found so many of those illuminating words lately. It is great to be in a May-long break (is that at all like a bee-loud glade?) from my formal studies, so I can read other things!

I love this book from which today’s words come, in part of course because it validates what I have come to discover over the years and wrote about in my very first post to this blog (that mindfulness is key to God, the universe and everything). I read the research version a while back, and I am glad that the authors have now published a popular edition.

It includes one of my favorite Rumi works, “The Guest House,” translated by Coleman Barks:

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

7 Responses to Radical Acceptance

  1. Ham Niles says:

    The words “Radical Acceptance” came to my mind recently out of the ether and so I found your blog when I sought them out on the internet. So glad I did. I’ll be more prepared for the crowd of sorrows come to clean me out next time! Thanks.

    H

  2. Bill says:

    the anger
    that I just uttered
    where has it gone

  3. Pete says:

    Thank you for reminding me of that poem. I first heard it at Blue Cliff Monastery.

  4. […] just read the book Radical Acceptance, by Tara Brach. Before I read this wonderful book, I had a post by this title. I’m sure it was Brach’s book that was referenced by the authors I quoted in that […]

  5. […] Radical Acceptance This is a transformative practice. […]

  6. Hello dear Quotes Queen, Ahh.. radical self-acceptance, there’s a tall order..hmm.. I just noticed I put “self” in the “acceptance” part of your title “Radical Acceptance”. Enough said, huh? It all begins with radical acceptance of ourselves, first. Last May/June I was working with Cheri Huber’s “Making a Change for Good: A Guide to Compassionate Self-Discipline” – that got me on the path to conscious self-compassion/self-acceptance. That was deepened with my SoulCollage practice and the workshops I teach. “The Guest House” is a poem I often use, because SoulCollage is about being aware of the expected and unexpected “visitors” within, honoring them with a SoulCollage Card, dialoguing with energy..and allowing the Process to have it’s healing way with us. SoulCollage is another way of becoming more Mindful, and learning from our Visitors…our Guides from Beyond.

    You have a marvelous blog here..so rich! I look forward to reading more. Cheers to you..

  7. 🙂 I’m smiling because I know what you mean about “too many syllables” as you reference your tag line. For me, there’s a certain cadence to phrases that I like, and it’s a combination of one and two syllable words..and their order in the phrase that allows me to be fully satisfied, or not. As I’ve worked with my mandalas over the last two years, less has been more for me..but each of our path’s is unique. I’m wondering, how do you feel about the tag line “Illuminated Words” or “Words that Illumine”. There’s often a certain beauty and poetry that’s loosed when we don’t tie it all up in a neat package. This also allows the reader to make the meaning personal. Just some ideas as I drink in your succulent writings! Thank you for your beautiful offerings.

Leave a Reply

