Clear Space

Present-moment awareness creates a gap not only in the stream of mind but also in the past-future continuum. Nothing truly new and creative can come into this world except through that gap, that clear space of infinite possibility.  ~Eckhart Tolle, from The Power of Now

Thinking about that clear space, ironically, as I prepare to return to work after a week-long vacation. But the space Tolle means is space we can have access to anytime. Ceasing our obsessive thinking, coming into the present, we understand that time and space are one, here and now.

This is good news. It means creativity is available to me virtually anytime, anywhere. I don’t have to have a special writing pen or desk, a lot of free time or extra energy, or even inspiration (especially not ideas!). I have only to stop, notice, be in the now. Surrender to life, to the moment. Tolle says, “No truly positive action can arise out of an unsurrendered state of consciousness.”

How do you experience creative moments? Do they come unbidden; do you arrange conditions to induce them? What if you surrendered to the gap, that clear space of infinite possibility?

4 Responses to Clear Space

  1. Corey says:

    I am so greatful to Eckhart Tolle and Oprah for turning me onto Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor and her beautiful book “”My Stroke of Insight””. Her story is amazing and her gift to all of us is a book purchase away I’m happy to say.

    Dr Taylor was a Harvard brain scientist when she had a stroke at age 37. What was amazing was that her left brain was shut down by the stroke – where language and thinking occur – but her right brain was fully functioning. She experienced bliss and nirvana and the way she writes about it (or talks about it in her now famous TED talk) is incredible.

    What I took away from Dr. Taylor’s book above all, and why I recommend it so highly, is that you don’t have to have a stroke or take drugs to find the deep inner peace that she talks about. Her book explains how. “”I want what she’s having””, and thanks to this wonderful book, I can! Thank you Dr. Taylor, and thank you Eckhart and Oprah.

  2. Claudia says:

    I ordered it for the library.

  3. I think, more and more, I’m discovering that my creativity is there all the time – it’s just a matter of listening for and noticing it, as you suggest. I’ve started keeping a little notebook with me so I can write things down when they come to me. That way, when I’m faced with the blank screen or canvass, I have a list of ideas to get me started (and, once I get going, there’s usually no stopping me ;D ).

  4. Teresa says:

    I might not have to have that special pen and desk, but I want them anyway. me! me! me!

    I’m getting ready to watch “the Sea Inside” – I think it probably will be inspiring in the way Corey describes. I never heard of Dr. Taylor but will see what I can find. I have never, ever watched Oprah – can you believe that’s even possible? Of course I know her from the movie “The Color Purple” and all those “O” magazines with Oprah on the cover every time.

    I know everybody really loves her, but tell the truth, isn’t it just a teeny bit weird to have your face on EVERY single cover? but, if I had millions of dollars I might put my face on buses if I felt like it, who knows?

Leave a Reply

