Blogsickness

There is nothing that can stop the Creative. If life is full of joy, joy feeds the creative process. If life is full of grief, grief feeds the creative process. ~Stephen Nachmanovitch, in Free Play: The Power of Improvisation in Life and the Arts (p. 196)

Again I will say that this is one of my favorite books. The last chapter, from which the quote is taken, is called “Heartbreakthrough.” I love that idea, and in fact have been having visions of my heart breaking wide open. Although I must say, I have not been able to tell that my grief of recent days has fed the creative process. It must have (else from whence came visions?), but I’ve been “blogsick” at being unable to write here lately.

So I’m glad to be back at the keyboard today, talking to myself with a hope that someone kind is eavesdropping. Iris Dement in person last week, what can I say? Claudia said I was acting like it was Elvis, and I said, “Iris is my Elvis.” The enormous fun I had with friends brought my loneliness into sharp relief. Iris didn’t sing “Got No Time to Cry” but I’ve been thinking about it a lot.

Have you ever had a heartbreakthrough? I feel one coming on…

4 Responses to Blogsickness

  1. mark gates says:

    Keep listening to Iris Dement. She is balm for the soul…

  2. Wayne says:

    How lucky you are to have seen her in person. I only learned about her a few months ago but I’m totally overwhelmed by her songs and her voice. I have to settle for YouTube videos.

  3. […] own life for some difficult work, that “heartbreakthrough,” I think, that I mentioned here. I am acknowledging and “containerizing” my sadness, rather than pushing it down (as […]

  4. teresa says:

    I think heartbreakthrough happens when we least expect it, and that perhaps we don’t realize it has happened until afterwards, when we one day notice that we are just living again, and not focusing or working on sadness, happiness or anything else. Concentrating harder will not make understanding life any easier; in fact it might just make my brain explode.

Leave a Reply

