No Regrets

Make it a rule of life never to regret and never look back. Regret is an appalling waste of energy; you can’t build on it; it is good only for wallowing in. ~Katherine Mansfield

Amen, Ms. Mansfield! I wish I had a nickel for every time I have wallowed in regret. It is tempting to think one’s sins or shortcomings are somehow more numerous or egregious than others’, that we are special in some way. Some of mine are sins of omission, some commission, but in the end, we all have them. While confession may be good for the soul, there are some I still can’t confess to even my closest friends, and I think the better route is to forgive myself and let go of the past, to stop wasting energy on embarrassment and regret.

After all, it was I who in the spring of 2004 wrote the lines, “I unfold my failures like old clothes/hug them to me, then let go,/watch them sail away on the wind.” I find that writing is so often prophetic, that it gets at truths long before I can understand them fully. Which is one reason this blog is so important to me: Even if I am not living my professions here, they are pointing in the direction I want to go, helping establish and explore my intentions. For example, way back in a January post I wrote, “More and more of being here now, and less and less of dwelling on past mistakes or future possibilities, is liberating and exhilirating.” Life is a spiral.

Have you found freedom from regret? What helps you to forgive yourself for your transgressions?

3 Responses to No Regrets

  1. Julia Luna says:

    thank you for those words of wisdom..it is good to be reminded of what is beyond the limited beings that we are 🙂

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Thanks for visiting!

  3. Peter Njenga says:

    After really understanding ‘Our Deepest Fear’ [http://www.worldprayers.org/frameit.cgi?/archive/prayers/meditations/our_deepest_fear_is_not.html] and reading Brian Tracy’s ‘Million Dollar Habits’, I have lately decided that I should firstly love myself and make the most of every opportunity.
    Having done that, I am able to avoid regret by looking at what good comes out of everything. I am able to see and do positive things, by seeing things from the inside out.
    And, if God or whatever higher power can forgive you for any transgression, why not forgive yourself too. We live we learn.

    Very nice blog. I’m adding it to my blogroll right away.
    Thanks for the insight

Leave a Reply

