Do What You Love

Pursue the things you love doing, and do them so well that people can’t take their eyes off you. All other tangible rewards will come as a result. ~Maya Angelou

I love blogging! I am surprised by that, as it is not something I would have ever thought I would enjoy so much. I’m astonished that I have been writing here for almost a year. I’ve always known I loved words and writing, and all my writing came out as poetry until I found this medium. But I’ve discovered that I really like writing these short, personal essays and ruminations. As I said in the last post, writing pulls me along into the work I need to do, suggests new ways of looking at life, and helps me make sense of the world. Grace Paley said, “You write from what you know, but you write in what you don’t know.”

What do you love doing? If you can’t do it for a living, how can you do it as an avocation? Or what small bit of it can you integrate into your life right now?

3 Responses to Do What You Love

  1. Caroline says:

    “Do What You Love”.

    Or, as Joseph Campbell said, “Follow your bliss”.

  2. I have spent my whole life doing what I love- I practice medicine and play in a bluegrass band. My wife says I am going to make it all the way to the end and never go to work for a living.

    Dr. Tom Bibey

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  3. quotesqueen says:

    Thanks for visiting, Dr. Tom and Caroline! Always glad to have new readers/commenters.

Leave a Reply

