Funny Favorites

It’s time to lighten up! Too much sadness, illness, and seriousness lately. And just to shake things up further, today the commentary is the prelude to the quotations. Here are a few of my favorite humorists and a sampling of their witticisms I particularly like. Enjoy!

Oscar Wilde
* In the world there are only two tragedies. One is not getting what one wants, and the other is getting it.
* The good ended happily, and the bad unhappily. That is what fiction means.

Dorothy Parker
* The cure for boredom is curiosity; there is no cure for curiosity.
* This is not a novel to be tossed aside lightly. It should be thrown with great force.

Mark Twain
* Don’t go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first.
* The difference between the right word and the almost right word is the difference between lightning and the lightning bug.

Groucho Marx
* I find television very educational. The minute somebody turns it on, I go to the library and read a good book.
* Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read.

Do you have funny favorites to share?

2 Responses to Funny Favorites

  1. Bill says:

    Two by Woody Allen:

    1. “His only regret is that he is not somebody else.” [Referring to himself]

    2. “I guess I’m an intellectual. I think when I don’t have to.”

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Yes, Woody Allen is another great one! I like, “How can I believe in God when just last week I got my tongue caught in the roller of an electric typewriter?”

Leave a Reply

