Deeper and Wider

You can’t do anything about the length of your life, but you can do something about its width and depth. ~Shira Tehrani

I have been considering death and dying a lot lately, as death’s shadow falls on members of my family. Of course, mortality and the knowledge of our mortality are conditions with which we all have to contend. As a young person, I remember thinking I had some sort of “edge” on understanding it because of losing a parent at 14. But midlife brings a new level, a new way, of understanding. Life is a spiral, after all.

Given that the length of my life is an unknown, I am cheered to think about having at least some measure of influence over the “width and breadth” of my existence. Learning every day is one of the most important ways I sustain myself and engage with the world. Writing is one way of learning, as I write into understanding, not from it. Today I am profoundly grateful for learning, for writing, and for you, the imagined reader.

Namaste. (All that is best and highest in me greets and honors all that is best and highest in you.)

6 Responses to Deeper and Wider

  1. bobleckridge says:

    Wonderful quote! Goodness, you really do find them!
    I often draw a line on a piece of paper for patients and I say it’s the “life line” with the left hand end of the line being the date they are born and the right hand end being the day they die. I say we all know our birth date but none of us know the date we will die. None of us know the length of our personal line. Then I pick a point in about the middle of the line (I always choose the middle, no matter the patient’s age! Well, who knows? I’m a positive person!) And I tell them everything from the left end to NOW is the past – it only exists in our memory. And everything from NOW to the right end is the future – it only exists in our imagination. I tell them the mind can only be one place at a time, so if they are spending all their time and energy on the past or the future they are missing the only time they can appreciate being alive – the PRESENT.
    I’ve done that countless times. But you’ve just given me a whole new dimension – the width and the depth. Oh, I love it!
    Thank you

  2. quotesqueen says:

    Oh, Bob, thank you for your comment! Really made my day.

  3. Bill says:

    life expectancy—
    mine ought to begin
    any day now

  4. jenny says:

    This is beautiful. I am thankful to come across you and your words.

  5. Peter Njenga says:

    Than you for the posts!
    “Each day is a new beginning
    Another chance to learn more about ourselves
    And to care more about others.”

  6. quotesqueen says:

    Bill, Jenny, Peter, thanks for contributing!

Leave a Reply

