Renewal

The wave always returns and always returns as a different wave. ~Marina Tsvetaeva

Jekyll Island, 2007

These words are from the Russian poet’s essay on lyric poetry. According to Tsvetaeva, renewal is the “pivot of lyricism.” Edward Hirsch writes about this idea here, and I love what he says about poetry causing us to “deepen our breathing, our mindfulness to being, our spiritual alertness.” Geez, no wonder I love poetry!

There’s something lovely and hopeful about this line. I’m reminded of new mornings that bring a fresh perspective, rain that clears the air. Today, I have practiced an old yoga routine, one that my body remembers from long ago–so long ago, in fact, that I practiced to a Richard Hittleman LP (that’s long-playing 33rpm record, for those who aren’t sure!). A returning wave, but a different one as well, rolling through this 54-year-old body.

Earlier today, I worked on my journal project. I am culling things I want to keep from old journals and destroying the rest. Things I want to keep are generally quotations (are you surprised?), ideas about writing, poems, titles of book I’ve read, and major events of my life. I am almost caught up to the present and can certainly say that renewal has been a theme. Although these journals may read over time like the same old same old (and are often quite boring!), I can see from a longer perspective and condensed view that each time I wrote about a returning wave, it was also a new wave. 

What does renewal mean to you?

3 Responses to Renewal

  1. Miss Guimba says:

    I am in the process of getting rid sentimental stuff and I have no idea what to do with my old journals. I’m thinking of choosing only pages I’d like to keep, but I feel that I’m censoring my thoughts and editing my life when I do this. Do you feel the same way, too?

    It’s my first time to visit your blog and I love it already.

  2. Lyn says:

    Ah, Miss Guimba, thanks for visiting! My journals were so full of junk (a la Julia Cameron’s morning pages) that it was easy to pick out the “good stuff” and get rid of the rest. If you have a different kind of journal, you may not want to get rid of anything. Or maybe your ambivalence is a signal that this is not the right time. Good luck!

  3. Miss Guimba says:

    Hello, Lyn! Right after I commented on your blog, I leafed through one journal and found myself cringing at what I wrote there. It signified a very difficult time in my life and reading about it awakened every negative feeling that I have had. So I thought, why keep something that reminds you of that negative experience once again? So I decided to get rid it and I realized how freeing that action was. Now I’m making a list of what to keep and what not to keep. Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

