Senior

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were? ~Satchel Paige

Today I turned 55. Officially senior by many definitions. I’ve always welcomed getting older, because it has brought equanimity and a better understanding of myself and others. But somehow this birthday makes me feel as though time is running out. For one thing, I still don’t have a consistent exercise and meditation practice after decades of trying. If not now, when?

When I contemplate Satchel Paige’s profound question, I’m concerned that I would feel older than I am in years! Yikes!!! Maybe it’s just been a hard year, or maybe my bad habits are just catching up with me. I want to think of 55 as my health watershed, to get younger by taking better care of myself.

So I am promising myself during the upcoming year to do these ten things:
1. slow down and pay attention
2. remember to take deep breaths
3. remain curious
4. practice gratitude
5. observe my experiences rather than trying to control or judge them
6. minimize sugar, alcohol and bad fats in my diet
7. do yoga as much as I can
8. get outside more
9. notice what feeds me, find flow
10. be gentle with myself

Learning has always been important to me also, and I believe it’s an age-busting practice. I didn’t list it, because it is already so much a part of me that I would have to try NOT to learn!

What are the things that make you younger?

4 Responses to Senior

  1. I stay young through many of the practices you’ve listed – also by continuing to learn and by just loving myself (or learning to anyway). You should check out http://realage.com – it asks you various questions about your lifestyle and health choices to give you a biological age estimate (vs. calendar age). I love it – it knocked over 10 years off for me!!

    Blessings,
    Kelley

  2. Oh – and Happy Birthday!!!

  3. Bill says:

    autumn leaves
    the old man follows
    their drift

  4. quotesqueen says:

    Thanks Kelley & Bill. The last time I did that “real age” thing I think I was 61! So I hesitate to go back there at the moment…

Leave a Reply

