Sadness

For how can one know color in perpetual green, and what good is warmth without cold to give it sweetness? ~John Steinbeck

A profound sadness envelops me this morning as snow falls outside my window. As usual, I want to distract myself, to banish it. But I am trying to just be with it instead, to notice its character, to write about it.

I know that this sadness is from several sources: lifetime accumulation; visiting sick relatives and gravesites over the Thanksgiving holiday; awareness of my own aging and mortality; too much isolation. And in spite of the fact that the holiday season has never been my favorite time of year, I am grieving the fact that it will never again be what it has been for over 30 years.

Thankfully, I also know this sadness will pass, and that joy is just around the corner. I know that soon I will recreate the holiday season, accept the impermanence of life, and move forward into health and wholeness. But today I honor the sadness that is part of life, the grief that change can bring. Today I sit in solidarity with those who are sad.

2 Responses to Sadness

  1. Don’t be sad Quotesqueen. The Midlife Crisis Queen is here to help!
    Yeah, I know the holidays aren’t the same. They were so exciting as children.
    Now they mostly mean visiting older, unhappy relatives. Bummer….

    But rejoice. All is not lost! My book will be out SOON!
    Please help me publicize it….

    Laura Lee aka The Midlife Crisis Queen

  2. asqfish says:

    I am with you in spirit.

Leave a Reply

