Well

In the dark time, the eye begins to see. ~Theodore Roethke

Again I have fallen
into the dark well of grief.
I can feel myself paling
like the camel crickets
too long out of the sunshine
that made me shudder
and draw back.

In this deep and narrow place
I must make meaning:
a lifeline, a light,
some wide wash
of healing water
in the black crucible
of faith.

One Response to Well

  1. nacona77 says:

    Good poem, I enjoyed the read…thank you for sharing!

    Cheers!

    Shawn Nacona

Leave a Reply

