The Heart’s Door

A basket full of bread sits on your head; yet you go from door to door begging for crusts. Attend to your own head. Knock on your heart’s door. ~Rumi

Today I want to swaddle my heart, protecting it from harm, and feel it beating through my whole body. But I also want to crack open the door and peek inside, get just a glimpse to help me on my way. Fear of opening that door has existed long past its usefulness!

The truth is, things have been leaking out for years…I just wasn’t sure where they were coming from. Perhaps that’s a gift of middle age, the capacity to become reacquainted with your own desires and passions, to claim them as your own.

My often-neglected passions include creative expression (but isn’t this true for everyone?), balance (think yoga, solitude vs. relationship, work-life balance), and learning. What would you find behind your heart’s door?

2 Responses to The Heart’s Door

  1. Fey says:

    Behind my heart’s door. This is a beautiful image to work with. Thank you! I’m going to give it some thought and let myself be inspired by it. I turned forty this year, and I find that I’m becoming reacquainted with myself in ways I never thought possible. It’s pretty amazing!

  2. Bill says:

    Happy new year, Lyn.

Leave a Reply

