Pacing

Success is the sum of small efforts–repeated day in and day out. ~Robert Collier

One of the striking differences between my husband and me has always been his ability to pace himself and my tendency to rush headlong into every endeavor. Yet I am most satisfied with my life when I move more slowly, give myself time to experience each moment, to reflect on where I’ve been and envision where I’m going.

I suppose this lesson is one blessing of age, at least for me. My body will simply no longer support my impulsive activity in the same way it did when I was younger! Of course, with the spiral nature of life, I have to learn this lesson over and over, each time in a slightly different way, from a slightly different place.

I have found it hard to restrain myself when I can see so many things I want to do. Patience has never, after all, been my strong suit–or even an acquaintance, really. That’s why I think a practice, such as this blog, is so important for me. It reinforces that idea of the cumulative effect of small things. Intention is also a critical element–imagining who I want to become, then giving myself permission to take only one mindful step at a time.

What is your secret for proper pacing in your life?

2 Responses to Pacing

  1. donna says:

    I keep a very short list of what HAS to get done on a particular day. If I’m tired, that’s pretty much all that gets done. If I’m feeling great, I may do those things and a lot more. But, I also do things when I’m in the mood to do them and feel the energy to do them. I also maintain tons of “free” time, which to me is just time I can spend as I like without worrying about other people’s preferences. It’s a luxury I used to feel guilty about, but as my shrink has said many times, “When in your life have you had the chance to do just what you wanted to do?” After the demands of work, kids, family crisis, etc, the chance to find your own space is all-important.

    Rushing in head-long is a great adrenalin high, but the crashes from that high can be stupendous. And you have to remember that the work has to be accomplished in the midst of life, not outside of it. When your time is free, that is “dream time”. Fit the small bits of work into the fast pace of life, carve them out in small chunks. But use the time you actually feel “free” to do your more in-depth contemplations. Then you have the balance.

  2. Stacie says:

    I try to pace myself but I, too, am impatient! But my physical limitations slow me down and maybe that’s okay, too. I am a genius at organization, though, so my actions are often well thought out!

Leave a Reply

