Moodling Day

still water

Who is it that can make muddy water clear? No one. But left to stand, it will gradually clear of itself. ~Lao Tzu

The miracle is not to walk on water. The miracle is to walk on the green earth in the present moment. ~Thich Nhat Hanh

I was wrong about being through with this blog! It had begun to feel like an obligation rather than a pleasure, but perhaps I just needed a break. (And Karen, it didn’t hurt that on Friday you said you missed it–made me realize I missed it too!) Today I was drawn to it, and after reading a while, am ready to write again.

There is soft rain here, much-needed rain, and the trees are rejoicing. Which reminds me of the hymn we used to sing at the UU church that takes its text from Isaiah 55:12–“For you shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.”

I am having a pleasant morning moodling (for a definition, see this entry). I think it is necessary for creative work. I am going to think of Sunday as Moodling Day.

Today, I want to be in the moment, engaging in process rather than fretting about product, listening to my heart instead of my head, following my body’s rhythms, slowing down to notice details. Listening to that gentle rainfall, breathing, smiling, being part of the miracle.

How do you set aside or ensure time for moodling?

4 Responses to Moodling Day

  1. Claudia says:

    Welcome back. Moodling, I like that.

  2. Karen says:

    Wonderful! Glad you moodled on back – what a great surprise this morning 🙂

  3. […] Praise of Slowness, May 4 Basking in our lives instead of running in and from them–see also Moodling Day, August 2 and The Myth of Multitasking, October […]

  4. […] from the woman who gave us the term ”moodling.” See references here and here. Ah, dreamy idleness! I am winding down May’s work and trying to prepare myself for […]

Leave a Reply

