Happiness and Belonging

Yahoola Valley 2
Look deep, deep, deep into nature, and then you will understand everything. ~Albert Einstein

Nature is not a place to visit. It is home. ~Gary Snyder

It is becoming clearer to me that happiness is a subtractive, rather than an additive, process. What I mean by that is that it is our natural state, but it is layered over with oh-so-much stuff that interferes. Letting go and discarding those things that don’t serve us is our task–not striving to find something we don’t already have. We are an integral part of the universe, of nature; we belong here (because we are here, after all), yet we persist in struggling to feel belonging. At least that’s my theology at the moment.

I am so fortunate to live in a gorgeous place. But when I am unhappy, focused on all that “stuff,” it goes unnoticed. May I recognize that I vibrate with all of nature, and feel that connection in my bones.

Sophia once said to me, “You should feel adored.” We should all feel adored as we bask in our natural homes. We are part of something much greater, but it would be different without us.

I am a thread in the fabric of existence.
No one would miss one tiny thread,
except that it holds the whole thing together.
Who knows the extent of unraveling
once it begins?

3 Responses to Happiness and Belonging

  1. Karen says:

    I’ll try to at least be the most colorful and unique thread . (and fun to watch unravel!!:-)

  2. Very nice, inspiring little essay. I, too, become despondent at times, despite the fact that I am walking along the Monterey Bay! I try to breathe it in, be in the moment, and savor each moment. Thanks.

  3. […] Happiness and Belonging, August 10, an expansion of Thread, January 20 We are everything and nothing. […]

Leave a Reply

