Favorites on Gratitude

For some time now, I have been writing in a gratitude journal (thanks, Claudia). I also subscribe to daily quotes on gratitude from gratefulness.org. Here are some of my favorites.

As I express my gratitude, I become more deeply aware of it. And the greater my awareness, the greater my need to express it. What happens here is a spiraling ascent, a process of growth in ever expanding circles around a steady center. ~David Steindl-Rast

Recipients of our appreciation are apt to express their own gratitude to others, lengthening the unending, golden chain of connections-in-goodness that stretches across the world. ~Mary Ford Grabowsky

No one is as capable of gratitude as one who has emerged from the kingdom of night. ~Elie Wiesel

Gratitude is so close to the bone of life, pure and true, that it instantly stops the rational mind, and all its planning and plotting. ~Regina Sara Ryan

The more alert we become to the blessing that flows into us through everything we touch, the more our own touch will bring blessing. ~David Steindl-Rast

The day I acquired the habit of consciously pronouncing the words “thank you”, I felt I had gained possession of a magic wand capable of transforming everything. ~Omraam Mikhael Aivanhov

There’s a self-expansive aspect of gratitude. Very possibly it’s a little-known law of nature: the more gratitude you have, the more you have to be grateful for. ~Elaine St. James

Today, I am grateful for the gentle rain, the ability to work from home, the grant our agency was just awarded that will provide 45 scholarships for students to get a Master’s Degree in Library Science, the healthy lunch my husband made for me, my yoga practice, a weekend (without pressing obligations) stretching before me, and the beautiful place in which I live.

What are you grateful for today?

4 Responses to Favorites on Gratitude

  1. […] shared some favorite quotations on gratitude here. To those I add the […]

  2. Oh Quotes Queen.. thank you for this! I’m loving the quotes on gratitude (and love quotes in general..including my own!) — This year, my heart decided to keep a gratitude journal and blog. I’d not found it satisfying before because I didn’t “feel it” – it was a mental exercise, but now..thankfully.. my feeling nature has risen up to greet me and I am filled with “Gratitude-Joy!” – and like the first quote in this post says.. the more I express it, the more aware of it I am..and my life is enriched in ways I’ve not yet written about..but will very shortly. Thanks for sharing your self with us..including your gratitude.
    Abundant blessings to you today, and every day.

  3. I resonate so with the David Steindl-Rast quote, I posted it on my blog – and cited your blog… OK with you?

  4. Lyn says:

    Absolutely, Cheryl! Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

