Here I Am

You always have to be working on something because you have to trust your unconscious life, to be ready to deal with a play [poem] when it says, ‘Here I am.’ ~John Guare

This afternoon I will read, along with other Stonepile Writers Group members, at the Dahlonega Literary Festival. It would be lovely to have a new poem to read, but my last one was written several months ago. Today’s quote is a reminder to myself to get busy working on something. Nothing has said “Here I am” in some time, and I believe that is because I have not sat still enough.

Today I renew my intention to build in time for reception and gestation of images, the attunement to the senses, the mindfulness that often eludes me, crowded out by busyness. I think I will have to schedule this time, as paradoxical as that sounds, to put it on my calendar as sacred time. I am on vacation this week, so it seems like the ideal time to practice this intention.

How do you get yourself to a place where you can manifest your talents, where you are in “flow,” ready to receive that which calls to you, “Here I am?”

2 Responses to Here I Am

  1. Yousei Hime says:

    Do it! Appoint yourself a sacred time. For years I have resented the lack of such a time, and stolen time from everything else when I couldn’t stand the inner frustrated weeping anymore. I believe you’ll find what you are looking for when you can honor that daily time.

    My only other meager offerings are these: have a special place (if possible) and a readying routine (zen practice) for writing. Best wishes.

  2. Bill says:

    “build in time” resonates with me.

Leave a Reply

