More Love, Less Fear


On the deepest level, problems such as war and starvation are not solved by economics and politics alone. Their source is the prejudice and fear in the human heart—and their solution also lies in the human heart. What the world needs most is people who are less bound by prejudice. It needs more love, more generosity, more mercy, more openness. The root of human problems is not a lack of resources but comes from the misunderstanding, fear, and separateness that can be found in the hearts of people. ~Jack Kornfield, from Seeking the Heart of Wisdom: The Path of Insight Meditation

My friend Carol gets the credit for the title of today’s post. She once shared her aspiration for this succinctly-expressed way of relating to the world. While it may sound naive to some, I believe that this practice of loving will create a better world, as Kornfield suggests. I am only one, but still I am one! (This idea from Edward Everett Hale: “because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.”)

I want to relentlessly love more and fear less in everything I do, trusting that it will make a difference in my own heart and soul and ultimately in the world, but knowing also that some will misunderstand, suspect, discount, or reject that love. Won’t you join me in this intention?

3 Responses to More Love, Less Fear

  1. Karen says:

    “I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.” Oh if only so many others could just understand how easy that can be. I will be conscious of requests and suggestions and make every attempt – to do what I can do — because I can! And I will not allow others to disuade me when they cannot see or will not see what is so obvious. I am in this life to live it, experience it, taste it, not watch it go by or turn my head so I don’t even see it!

  2. […] less; move more. Keep less; toss more. Waste less time; write more. Fret less; smile more. Fear less; love more. Sit less; walk more. Acquire less; give more. Look inward less; look outward more. Work less; play […]

  3. […] ago, I wrote a post called More Love, Less Fear. Today I say more joy, less fear. I think joy and love are intertwined and reciprocally generating. […]

Leave a Reply

