A Year of Potential

We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched. Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives… not looking for flaws, but for potential. ~Ellen Goodman

I admit to stealing today’s quote from Patti Digh’s blog entry, entitled “you are not broken. you don’t need to be fixed.” The post also includes an image of a beautiful Edward Hopper painting (alas, no relation!)

But really, what a terrific way to start the new year, by considering our potential rather than making resolutions to overcome our perceived flaws. Acknowledging and celebrating our gifts gives others inspiration to do the same.

What do you want to bring forward in 2010? What do you have within you that wants expression? How will you celebrate your talents in the coming year? Share your list!

4 Responses to A Year of Potential

  1. Karin says:

    What a refreshing outlook. I hope to paint more this year.

  2. Thank you so much for your comment on my little blog! I went traveling over the holidays and got out of my routine of posting every day. I have missed it so, so much and I am THRILLED that the universe (in the form of you) has decided to kick me in the rear and tell me to get moving!

    Have a wonderful day. Your blog rules.

    Amy

  3. Lyn says:

    Thanks, Amy & welcome to my world. I saw your quote on Patti Digh’s site and had to check you out. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

