For, Not Against

Every value we hold dear is an expression of either support or opposition, and it is our perspective that determines whether we are for something or against it…being for something is a vastly more potent means of inspiring change because it carries with it the power of constructive intent. ~from the Daily Om, 3/3/10

As regular readers know, I have some degree of ambivalence toward social activism. (See Riding the Currents.) I believe so many good intentions to make the world a better place go astray and further polarize people. This may be largely because of the negative nature of much activism–protest marches as opposed to nonviolent demonstrations in favor of an ideal.

I want to be for the things I believe in more than I am against the views of others. Constructionist rather than deconstructionist. Here’s my list. Join me! What would your “for” list include?

Peace–in the world, in our communities, in our homes, and in ourselves
Social justice–ensuring all the opportunity for health and happiness
Economic justice–raising all boats through equitable policy and legislation
Intellectual freedom–to read, think, and believe as we wish
Human rights–the Universal Declaration says it best
Tax-supported government services–such as libraries and health care
Community–locally, nationally and globally
Respect for the interdependent web of all existence, of which we are a part
Simpler living–right relationship with possessions and the earth’s resources

2 Responses to For, Not Against

  1. Valerie says:

    I’m curious if you are Unitarian because the second to last statement is one of our principles. I really agree with the being for rather than against. I have thought a lot about this. I am studying Nonviolent Communication (Marshall Rosenberg) so one of mine would be: Living in a world where everyone’s needs matter, including my own. Another would be: peace through simple kindness. Thank you for your inspirational words.

  2. Lyn says:

    Valerie, thanks for your comment. I was a member of a UU congregation (3 different ones, actually) for about 15 years. I checked out Rosenberg’s site–interesting! I also love Parker J. Palmer’s works.

Leave a Reply

