Hello Again!

Do you know that disease and death must needs overtake us, no matter what we are doing? What do you wish to be doing when it overtakes you? If you have anything better to be doing when you are so overtaken, get to work on that. ~Epictetus

I have missed writing. In the flurry of changing jobs, preparing for retirement, completing a demanding class, and taking a couple of short trips, I forgot what I want to be doing when I am overtaken. Luckily, Teresa has reminded me: It is writing! Or perhaps writing is the means to the end: living mindfully, being present for life.

So, today, I am grateful for readers. (I have missed you!) I am grateful for writers, especially the Paperwhite Writers and the Stonepile Writers. I am happy to be back at the keyboard.

Epictetus calls us to our important work on earth. What is it that you want to be doing?

2 Responses to Hello Again!

  1. Feithline says:

    I want to be making art, taking pictures, and writing. Thanks for asking! It’s good to boil it all down to what really matters.

  2. Miss Guimba says:

    I missed you, too, Quotesqueen! When I feel myself overtaken by unnecessary worries, I schedule my day around what really matters. Family, reading, writing…I haven’t been writing much, too. I have to schedule it or otherwise I just spend my day going willy-nilly from one task to the next without regard to what matters.

Leave a Reply

