Attention!

We create ourselves by how we invest the energy of our attention.  ~Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, from Finding Flow

Oh, dear, another book to put on my list. But what a pithy quote! (I got it from a post at Changing Places, where you can find more quotes on attention–thanks, Donna!) In spite of my desire to pay attention to my attention, I often forget how important and powerful it is–that I am literally creating myself through it.

I have paid too little attention to this blog recently, partly because of busyness, partly from avoidance. It is so much easier to play computer Scrabble against the maven or space out doing crossword puzzles. While I’m told that both of these activities are good for my brain, they feel like time-killers. How much more satisfying (albeit more difficult) it is to write something new.

I realize I need “down time,” but more attention to my down-time activities could result in choosing things that feed me, rather than numb me. A walk in the yard, a blog entry, or contact with a friend. Something that makes time expand (rather than disappear) because it requires a special kind of attention.

How do you squander your time and/or attention (if you do)? What feeds you?

4 Responses to Attention!

  1. Bill says:

    Thoreau says we can’t kill time without injuring eternity.

    winter solitude
    building sand castles
    in the air

    T. also has something interesting to say about castles in the air.

    If you haven’t read “Walden,” now would be a very good time.

  2. quotesqueen says:

    I started this blog with the “living deliberately” quote from Thoreau. Thanks for your poem!

  3. […] Flow was previously mentioned here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Closer to […]

  4. […] Attention! is another of my frequent reminders to myself not to squander my life away, but to be fully present for its unfolding. […]

Leave a comment