Thank You

If the only prayer you ever say in your entire life is ‘thank you,’ it will be enough. ~Meister Eckhart

My friend Claudia gave me a gratitude journal for my birthday. Although for a while I had a gratitude practice with an e-mail buddy, I wasn’t sure I would use the journal. There’s something inhibiting about writing on a bound blank page…But I tried it, and now I am hooked!

I like the design because each double-page spread has a place for “gratitude now” on the left, and “gratitude intentions” on the right. I am writing about things I wish to see on the right side, as though they have already happened. For example, right after the presidential election I wrote, “I am grateful for living in a country that is once again a model of peace, democracy, and the best in human relationships.” When I was thankful that my missing cat had come home, she did. When I was thankful that my mother-in-law had come to accept her life in the nursing home, she had. So although I’m not sure I completely believe in this magic, there is something about articulating what we want that seems to have power.

As we approach the Thanksgiving holiday, I am thankful to have this gratitude journal that prompts me to write about all the large and small blessings and joys in my life, and to visualize the good that can be. For what will you say “thank you” this holiday season? Don’t forget to also state your gratitude intentions!

3 Responses to Thank You

  1. donna says:

    Mmm, love that idea of writing about what you are grateful for before it happens. Good stuff!

    Namaste…

  2. […] “If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, “thank you,” that would suffice.” ~Meister Eckhart […]

  3. […] Eat less; move more. Keep less; toss more. Waste less time; write more. Fret less; smile more. Fear less; love more. Sit less; walk more. Acquire less; give more. Look inward less; look outward more. Work less; play more. Ignore less; help more. Complain less; express gratitude more. […]

Leave a comment